Monthly Report 2021-02

posted lun. 01 mars 2021

This is my first post on this website, so let me explain what I want to do with it. I'd like to share what I discovered, what I watched and some related stuff I did during the past month. I'll try to post a report on the first of each month, so stay tuned!

Website

So, the most obvious item is that I started this website, simply to share my weebiness with the world! I plan to use it to share some of the useless (but fun!) stuff I learn about Japan and the Japanese language here. Maybe it can help and entertain you? We'll see!

Anime

The other most obvious item I want to report is the anime I watched this past month. Shows I finished, started or continued watching.

Finished shows

I finally finished 91 days on the first day of the month, so it does count. The show is good even though it took me some time to get into the series, which is probably because I'm not a huge fan of the genre after all. I also had some difficulties understanding the show without subtitles.

I started and finished Akudama Drive. It was good too, but I also missed some of the information because I'm too stubborn to put subtitles on. In particular, I could not understand anything Same-kun and Usagi-chan were explaining, so the world did not make a lot of sense to me. Despite that, I was able to enjoy the show.

Since the last two months, I started watching again some shows I watched as a kid. This month, I watched Ulysses 31. Since it was a French series, drawn in Japan (probably for saving costs?), I watched it in French. The series is fine, but I did not enjoy it as much as I did as a kid.

Finally, I watched some OVAs. I watched Yokohama Kaidashi Kikou and its sequel Yokohama Kaidashi Kikou: Quiet Country Cafe. It's an adaptation of a manga I like of the same name. It was good, very chill. With only 1 hour total each, I recommend you watch it.

Started shows

I started some series from this season, namely Dr. Stone: Stone Wars and Yakusoku no Neverland 2nd Season. Well, I can't really say anything about them yet. I loved the first season of both shows, so I hope they'll be great this season too!

You know it since I started this website with it, but I started watching Hataraku Saibou. The show is very enjoyable and I'm learning a lot. Apart from the explanations from the narrator, the show is very easy to understand for me, except for some specific vocabulary that I added to this website.

I started Lupin III, a classic.

I started Megazone 23, an old OVA in 4 parts. I watched the first half, and it was amazing. However, I'm a bit worried for the last 2 parts, as reviews say the quality dropped a lot.

Stuff I learned

I started this website with some vocabulary related to Hataraku Saibou. This month, I learned about my body, and more specifically the immune system and blood. In Japanese, which is pretty cool :).

I also learned that the very first hand-drawn animation was made by a French man, Émile Cohl. It's a very short animation (1 minute) and you can watch it here! Since I started watching again some series from my childhood, I think I'll watch more French animation next month. Maybe I'll even write a page with some recommendations. Hey, I'm French after all, so leave me alone and let me learn more about my own culture :p.

I noticed kitsu had some of them in its database, so I went ahead and added Code Lyoko and The Mysterious Cities of Gold (season 2 to 4) to my library, as I rewatched them recently.